BackPrintAsk a QuestionApply Online

Higher Nationals in Computing

The Pearson BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Computing offers students a broad introduction to the subject area via a mandatory core of learning, while allowing for the acquisition of skills and experience through the selection of optional units across a range of occupational sectors at Level 4.
This effectively builds underpinning core skills while preparing the student for subject specialisation at Level 5. Students will gain a wide range of sector knowledge tied to practical skills gained in research, self-study, directed study and workplace scenarios.

The Pearson BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Computing offers students six specialist pathways designed to support progression into relevant occupational areas or on to degree-level study. These pathways are linked to Professional Body standards and vendor accredited certification (where appropriate) and can provide professional status and progression to direct employment.

Entry Requirements
For students who have recently been in education, the entry profile is likely to include one of the following:

• A BTEC level 3 qualification in Computing/IT
• A GCE Advanced Level profile that demonstrates strong performance in a relevant subject or adequate performance in more than one GCE subject. This profile is likely to be supported by GCSE grades at A* to C (or equivalent)
• Other related level 3 qualifications
• An Access to Higher Education Certificate awarded by an approved further education institution
• Related work experience
• An international equivalent to any of the above.

If you do not hold GCSE maths and English at grade C (Grade 4-5) or above then it is strongly recommended that you study these before starting on a Higher National programme, both to support your study and to allow you to progress to university.

On receipt of your application to study this course you will be invited to attend an admissions interview with a member of the teaching team to discuss the course and its requirements further.

BTEC HNC in Computing
Students develop a broad knowledge and awareness of key aspects of the computing sector through six core units:
1. Programming
2. Networking
3. Professional Practice
4. Database Design & Development
5. Security
6. Managing a Successful Computing Project (Pearson-set unit).

In addition to this HNC learners will also cover the following units:

11. Maths for computing
8. Computer Systems Architecture

BTEC HND in Computing
The Level 5 Higher National Diploma consists of the Level 4 Higher National Certificate (above) plus an additional 120 credits at Level 5 delivered via the general Computing pathway or one of the following specialist pathways:
* Network Engineering
* Security

The Higher National units are assessed internally. You will be graded for each individual unit with a Pass, Merit or Distinction. You may be assessed in a number of different ways, such as presentations, written reports and practical tasks.

Awarding Body
Pearson BTEC

The full time HNC programme is a single year full time, which can be followed by the HND for a further academic year. You will be expected to attend lectures at Macclesfield College for a minimum of 12 hours each week. You may also study for a part time HNC over two years.

Follow up courses/Progression
On successful completion of this course you can continue with an employment or use the HNC or HND as entry to apply for other Higher Education qulifications. You can apply to university to complete a degree in a related subject; entry to the degree may be at year 2 or year 3 dependent upon the university and degree programme.This qualification can also be used to support a job application within computing or a related profession.

Course information code: CIT-01-17  

BackPrintAsk a QuestionApply Online